Friends of Ireland

Cairde Na hÉireann

'Ourselves are not only where we are, but where we have come from'  the late Professor Patrick O'Farrell, historian of Ireland and Australia

Founded in 1985, the Friends of Ireland Society (or in Irish, Cairde na hÉireann) reflects the deep interest of many people in the Canberra region in their Irish origins and in the links between Ireland and Australia.

The Society seeks to promote a better understanding of modern Ireland (both North and South) and of the distinctive contribution that the Irish have made to the Australian way of life.

UPCOMING EVENT: Friends of Ireland Society/CILA Christmas Dinner

You  and your friends are invited to our Friends of Ireland Society(FoI)/Canberra Irish Language Association(CILA) Christmas Dinner!

When?Wednesday 11th December at 6.30 pm

Where?Cotter Room, Canberra Irish Club, Parkinson St., Weston

Welcoming drinks, bonbons, roast turkey and ham off the bone accompanied by delicious roast vegetables and fresh greens followed by dessert - luscious plum pudding or pavlova.

A new vegetarian option will be offered.

We will have lots of raffles, hampers with an Irish flavour and other surprises!

Our musicians will provide a great evening of entertainment and music  with Irish songs and wonderful old favourites!

Why not invite your friends and come along for a relaxing evening to make a wonderful finale to 2019 !

How do I book?  

Cost $40Please pay online when you book. There is a 50cents charge per person per booking.

Please print your tickets and bring them with you on Wed 11th or have them on your mobile phone on your email, or take a photo of them when the confirmation is sent. The Club should receive a list of names who have booked from Trybooking.

We like to have lots of raffle prizes! Donations of a hamper or any raffle prize eg  holiday weekends, treats, art/craft, books, vouchers, wine, bottles of cheer would be greatly appreciated.

Please bring your donation on the evening, or call Sue 0410313232  or Jill 0434395456 if we can pick up or wrap.

See you there!

Past Events 

Our guest speaker nights are particularly popular &  are usually held at the Canberra Irish Club on the third Wednesday of the month, with an optional pre-meeting meal beforehand. 

The Annual St Patrick's Day Ecumenical Service at the Centre for Christianity in Barton is always a most popular event and very well attended.

Our Yeats Day in August 2015 at the National Library was a wonderful success.  This was the 150th anniversary celebration of the birth of Ireland's first Nobel Prize winner and internationally regarded poet.

Past speakers at FoI meetings include Booker Prize winning author, Thomas Keneally; Susan Ryan, the Federal Age Discrimination Commissioner; Frank O'Shea, Canberra writer and book critic; H.E.Noel White, Ambassador of Ireland; ACT Magistrate Dr. Bernadette Boss; Historian, Dr Patricia Clarke; and Canberra University's Assistant Dean, Prof Francis Shannon.


Irish language classes 

For more information see Irish Language classes page on this menu, call Conor Bradley on 6251 4838, or visit Canberra Irish Language Association website

The Society is supported by the Canberra Irish Club

We encourage members & their friends to support the Club. Becoming a Club member, enjoying a bistro meal at Molly Bloom's, or arranging your work / family function at the Club are all practical ways to ensure the continuation of an Irish Club in Canberra. 

All of our events are open to the public.  Why not become a member? You'll find a warm welcome!  Annual membership per household is $20 or $10 (concession) and 2 year memberships  of $40 or $20 (concession)
Direct debit facilities are available.Beyond Bank  BSB 325185  Acc Number 03405456. Please identify yourself on the payment.
Members receive an occasional  newsletter advising them of our varied functions and events.


Membership enquiries to Jill Hanson 02 6288 6729 or 


Cairde Na hÉireann publicises its activities on the Irish Voice radio program on 2XX at on Sundays; and on Queanbeyan FM Radio.. 

President: Martha McEvoy.